Jumping in Head First

I recently was offered a position to teach Middle School Language Arts and Debate. As a recent college graduate who is swimming in student loan debt and trying to finance her Masters degree, I gladly accepted.

A little background – I recently graduated with a B.A. in English and a minor in Education. Before graduation, I decided I would pursue a Masters degree in Education – a feat that I am currently conquering, slowly but surely. I have spent the last several years tutoring students and teaching after school classes, but I have yet to teach in a full-time instructional capacity. Needless to say, I’m excited, anxious, and terrified. I have never taught before, and the year ahead of me will be full of twists and turns, bumps and obstacles, and I plan to document it, if for nothing more than to attempt to keep my sanity.

I am scheduled to sign my paperwork this week, and then begin my new teacher orientation and training the last two weeks in July. Then, I have essentially a week to set up my classroom and begin planning before the school year begins. Talk about crazy! I am not even sure what to expect, but I plan on being as prepared as possible.

So, here’s to my embarkment into the world of education, and to the road ahead. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

